The Deal Breaker : A comma

I’m often asked if I follow US politics. And I don’t (although I usually don’t tell people that when they ask).  I dislike American politics for the same reason I dislike most Will Smith movies. Take a believable setting, with a believable conflict and make it over the top theatrical. It’s theatrics. This was only validated this last weekend when I found out about Obama’s new running mate.

Biden brings a very centrist position to US politics with an extensive amount of experience in “the game” but this isn’t really being discussed. Instead what will (seemingly) define the electoral success of this duo is…

A comma.

Yes, a comma.  Apparently, in January of this year he was recorded saying:

“I mean, you got the first mainstream African-American who is articulate and bright and clean and a nice-looking guy, I mean, that’s a storybook, man.”

Political analysts and linguists alike have been listening to the recording over and over and over arguing whether there is supposed to be a comma after the “African- American” which would significantly alter the meaning (and offensiveness) of the quote.

Grammar aside,  I find it  funny (in a concerned way) that Obama chose Biden for his “Foreign policy and national security experience”.

Yes, because domestically the US is doing AMAZING. So good, in fact, that they feel they need to focus their attention on the goings on in other countries.

sorry….change?

About Ashley Drake
Don't cha wish your girlfriend could blog like me

One Response to The Deal Breaker : A comma

  1. jensorlie says:

    You didn’t like The Pursuit of Happyness? Did you even see it?

Leave a Reply

